Congratulations Ruth, Peter and Teddy

I saw this card at the National Museum for Women & thought it perfect for my godmother’s new grandson, Teddy.  I got it back in June when I went to DC for a visit, but I was aware that Teddy was soon on the way & got it for that occasion.

The painting was done is by Angelica Kauffman, a Swiss artist  who lived from 1741-1807 in Rome.  The title of the piece is the  “http://nmwa.org/works/family-earl-gower” and is dated 1772.  It is an oil on caves piece and is about 59 1/4 inches high (that’s 5 feet) by 82” inches long (7 feet).

During her lifetime Ms Kauffman was incredibly prolific and much admired; at her death Antonio Canova no less, paid tribute to her and carried her own works in obvious emulation of Raphael’s funeral centuries earlier.

