Most Powerful Prayers, #99 Battered down

The Scene:  The Psalmist, sick & weary complains of Enemies and False Friends.

 David_writes_Psalms  Psalms xxxv: 10 

But thou, O LORD, be merciful unto me, and raise me up , that I may requite them.    11 By this I know that thou favourest me, because mine enemy doth not triumph over me.

Of course the word requite in verse #10 is striking as it means “repay, recompense”, so but one commentator, Martin Geier, (German Theologian, 1614 – 1680) , has an interesting way of looking at it :   That I may requite them. by repaying them with

(1), kindness for injuries (as in Psalms 35:13 ): the mark of a good and brave man to do good to all in his power, to hurt no one, even though provoked by wrong: or,  (2), punishment for wrong doing — that I may punish them; for am I not their magistrate, and the executioner of God’s justice!

John Calvin  sees “requite” as meaning #2 because it is coming from King David, and as a Royal person, he can make them pay for their allegations, but  I think #1 is more in tone with the Christian ethic for the rest of us.  This is a great example of what works on the individual level also works on the larger impersonal level.


I hear you brother.

On Thursday I had to take an EMG / NCV test.  The test itself wasn’t bad, though there were points that where she placed her prongs on my skin & I screamed from pain and we had to stop.  The prongs are not points but rounded ends that just touch your skin; I found that bad enough and today I have black and blues were she visited.   So running into this today I really could relate because friends asked about the test & are concerned, but  my family could care less, never checking or caring about me or Vincent. Sometimes I wonder about then; other times like now, I don’t wonder and just think that they are living in their Private Idaho.

  • Uncategorized