Bad news for Carolers

Well it seems caroling is out  based on this Rasmussen Reports poll (without Rasmussen as he has a new polling company 😉

  • Eighty-eight percent (88%) of American Adults celebrate Christmas in their family, according to a new Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey. (To see survey question wording, click here.)
  • Sixty percent (60%) plan to attend a Christmas party this year.
  • Fifty-four percent (54%) will send out Christmas cards.
  • But just nine percent (9%) say they will go Christmas caroling.
  • This to me is very sad. When I was in the hospital five years ago, with Legionnaires Disease, nothing brought greater happiness to my heart than a bunch of Carollers who came to my room and sang to me.  They let me chose the carol, I chose my favourite:   O Come All Ye Faithful (click on the tune and you can here it sung at Westminster Abbey, UK).  Here are the words and you can be Mitch Miller and sing along too.
    O come, all ye faithful, Joyful and triumphant,
    O come ye, O come ye to Bethlehem;
    Come and behold Him, born the King of angels;
    O come, let us adore Him, O come let us adore Him,
    O come, let us adore Him, Christ the Lord! Christ the Lord! 
    Sing, choirs of angels, Sing with exultations.
    Sing, all ye citizens of heav’n above;
    Glory to God in the highest; O come, let us adore Him, O come let us adore Him,
    O come, let us adore Him, Christ the Lord! Christ the Lord! 
    Yea, Lord, we greet Thee, born this happy morning.
    Jesus, to Thee all glory giv’n;
    Word of the Father, Now in flesh appearing;
    O come, let us adore Him, O come let us adore Him,
    O come, let us adore Him, Christ the Lord! Christ the Lord!
    John Reading
    Now as for the Christmas Cards, I was wondering if it wasn’t just me not getting them.  Pity if indeed is a trend but then again with postage at .49 cents a shot, it’s become a real gift.  If you give me your name and address, I’ll send you one.  Honest.
